Strawberry Purée

This week at the Farmers’ Market we will have choi, carrots, mixed greens, garlic scapes, spinach, radishes, turnips, herb transplants, eggs, stew hens and chicken feet. We will also be back at Deluxe, on the patio from 9-12!

Well, it was another week of new and interesting things for me! Last year Eric planted 1000 strawberry crowns, and this year we planted another plot with 1000 crowns. I’ve told you all before; I don’t know much about growing things. So it was new knowledge to me that you pick the flowers off the strawberry plants the first year. This allows the energy from the growing flower to be redirected to the roots. Makes sense, just another thing I have had to learn. Due to the flower picking, we are just seeing the first berries from our strawberry plants.

The berries are still pretty small, but they are growing. Over Sunday and Monday, Eric, J and I picked 6 gallons of strawberries. Monday I spent the day sorting berries. The bruised berries I set aside to make a puree. Now, making a puree is not something I would have ever thought of doing in the past.  I’m grateful that Eric and I are now at the point where I can ask him what I should do with something and not feel too embarrassed in the fact that I don’t know what to do. I guess I’m to the point that I’m willing to share things with you all and not be too embarrassed! When Eric told me we should make a strawberry purée from the bruised berries, I immediately started singing, “Strawberry purée” to myself. Yes, to the tune of Raspberry Beret. Well, and not really to myself. I haven’t stopped since. It’s driving me bonkers. It’s driving Eric bonkers too.

After the sorting, and about 20 rounds of “Strawberry Purée”, the bruised berries were placed in the blender.

30 seconds on low speed, and this bit of lovely goodness was here.

Some of the puree has gone into the freezer. To be saved for a later date.  Some has gone into the refigerator. We have had yogurt, granola and puree for breakfast almost every morning this week. It’s delicious. Sadly, it’s almost gone. Maybe when it runs out I’ll stop singing my new song “Strawberry Purée.” I think the awesome ’80’s dance moves I’m now adding are scaring Milo.

Have a great rest of the week and enjoy your weekend!

~eve

About saltforkfarms

A small organic farm in Iowa that raises Standard Breed laying hens and hybrid broiler chickens suited for a pasture-based system, as well as varieties of vegetables and fruit suitable to our Eastern Iowa climate. We grow food, we eat food, we sell food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

