Baking with Love

Hi all! As a reminder we are hoping to return to the Deluxe patio Saturday, June 2. We are sorry for the delay in getting back there. We are anxiously waiting for the second group of hens to start laying. We are also starting to see some good germination after the two storms took a toll on the gardens.

It’s a big week around here as Milo turns 2 this week! It’s amazing how quickly that happened. It seems like he was just born, and as I reflect on the last two years it’s also amazing how I have blocked out the first 12 weeks of his life. Our good friend Lori had an adorable boy 6 weeks ago. I’ve really enjoyed talking with her the last few weeks. As we talk I try to remember what I was doing at the same time frame. All I can remember is thinking, “What have I done?? I had such a nice self centered life!”

Alright, back on topic. Milo turns 2. Due to this, I have been getting ready to host our families on Saturday afternoon. Eric and I are both the youngest of 5, so when we say, “let’s have a few family members over,” it turns into 30-40 people. I have been looking at cake and cupcake recipies. I busted out 36 chocolate cupcakes last night. As I baked I was in a horrible mood. The stress of the last week was weighing on me. I was mad at Eric for being a farmer. I was mad at myself for being so selfish. You name it, I was finding a reason to be mad. As I finished the batter, I realized it wasn’t right. But that didn’t stop me, I baked them. They smelled good. As they finished they looked wonky. I pulled them out and let them cool. Some how baking with anger created a cupcake that resembled part cake, part brownie-and not in a good way. As I sat down in defeat, I took a deep breath. And I stewed some more. Eric came in and tried a cupcake.

“Huh, are they supposed to be like this?”

I was hoping he could actually feel the death glare I was projecting his way.

This morning I woke up in a much better mood. I decided to shake off the defeat of the last week and move on. I remember hearing a conversation between a baker and customer once. The customer asked why the bakers’ items were so good. They didn’t seem like anything extraordinary, but they tasted amazing. The baker replied in all honesty, “I bake with love.”

I’m not sure why that has stuck in my head all these years, but it has. So tonight, I am going to bake with love.

Stop back on Thursday. I’ll give an update on available produce at the Saturday market. I’ll also let you know how the baking turned out.

~eve

About saltforkfarms

A small organic farm in Iowa that raises Standard Breed laying hens and hybrid broiler chickens suited for a pasture-based system, as well as varieties of vegetables and fruit suitable to our Eastern Iowa climate. We grow food, we eat food, we sell food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baking with Love

  1. Kim d. says:

    Evie, I love you! This was a great post, so true!

Leave a Reply

