Life B.E.

I’ve made mention of Life B.E. before. My life before Eric (B.E.) was pretty different. I divided my time between DSM and Iowa City. Cooking and baking were not something I did very often, if at all. One of the first times Eric cooked for me I volunteered to clean up. Two things stood out to me. The first was when Eric told me any thing that was not edible was to be put in the compost.

“Compost?” I thought. People really compost? My friends Brian and Michelle were known to compost, but I didn’t think anyone else actually did that.

The other thing I remember, as I was putting food away, Eric told me, “Don’t throw anything out. I’ll use it.” This confused me. As someone who didn’t know how to cook, the idea of recycling a meal was so foreign. It still amazes me when Eric whips something up for dinner and tells me, “I used the beans and rice we had last night and made this egg dish.” To many of you this may mean nothing, but to me it was a new world.

I am just now to the point that I am willing to try to make things without worrying about failing. I am learning to enjoy failing so I can try again. But the thing that I really like, it’s that Milo will know how to cook. Even at 16 months, he wants to help. In the last few weeks Milo has been helping with the dishes, and helping make eggs. While it is easier for him to help with scrambled eggs, poached are his favorite. It really cracks me up on Saturday mornings when Milo comes to me and says, “Milo cook!” I give him a bowl, a whisk and a spatula and he pretends like he is making something. The best is when he brings you the spatula and says, “mama eat!” I know I sound like a dopey parent, but really, I’m so glad Milo will know this from the beginning of his life.

What about you all? Have you all always loved food and cooking? Is there something you recently learned how to cook or bake that has changed your life? Do you try to instill a love, knowledge and reverence for food in your family?

This Saturday we will have arugula, radishes, chard, kale, collards, peppers, eggplant, onions, garlic, chicken, chicken feet, and eggs. I know many of you were disappointed we ran out of chicken so quick last Saturday. We are only able to physically transport so many chickens. Eric is going to work on bringing more to the Farmers’ Market this week.

Happy Wednesday! Enjoy the rest of your week!

~eve

About saltforkfarms

A small organic farm in Iowa that raises Standard Breed laying hens and hybrid broiler chickens suited for a pasture-based system, as well as varieties of vegetables and fruit suitable to our Eastern Iowa climate. We grow food, we eat food, we sell food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life B.E.

  1. Nasseem says:

    love that you are keeping this up! xoxox Nas

  2. genevieve says:

    I know exactly what you mean. I had a life B.A. – before Alex, when my meals were dominated by peanut butter and ramen. It’s a lovely thing to be able to share a love of something with your significant other, and even better to be able to watch your children grow up with it. Our 15 yr old is a total cheese snob (it’s orange? eww), and would never contemplate a mcnugget.

  3. Eve says:

    Thanks Nas! I appreciate you stopping by and reading! Is there anything you have been doing to teach Roxie to love food? I bet she has helped in the garden. Have you been baking bread?

  4. Eve says:

    Geneieve, are you a comfortable cook now? Does your 15 year-old love to help around the kitchen? Did you make a real effort to encourage a love for food?

  5. Berit says:

    Great post, Eve. Even though (or perhaps because) neither of my parents cooked, I’ve always loved it. Clint does too. It’s one of our favorite shared hobbies. For special occasions, we’ll often splurge on fabulous ingredients and allow ourselves hours in the kitchen followed by a nice, long meal. I love that Roy’s growing up with cooking and family dinners playing an important role in his life. He currently more interested in cleaning up than cooking, but I’ll take it!

  6. Eve says:

    Thanks for reading, Berit! How nice to share this love with Clint! How do you guys involve Roy? Does he help with the dishes? Do you hold him while you cook?

    Due to schedules, Eric and I very rarely cook together. Well, maybe it’s due to the fact that I don’t have a thick skin when it comes to cooking. I usually end up mad by the time the meal is complete. I guess it’s more embarrassment that I never learned simple skills!

Leave a Reply

