More on my love for Fall, and Iowa.

I love this time of year. Canning, fall crops of surprising greens, and planting garlic.

Actually, I love Iowa, and I especially love Iowa during the Fall. I have never understood those people, who are transplants, who complain about Iowa. I’m pretty sure I give them a look of “what are you talking about??” Last Sunday I was so giddy as Milo and I drove up Highway 1 and he could see a combine in action. The grain wagon was right there ready for a grain deposit. We stopped and watched for a while. Just as I am writing this I heard a tractor roll down the road. You know that the means folk, night time harvesting is near.

But really, I think I love the late Fall afternoons, when you get to see things like this:

Or this:

These are just views from our driveway. As we walk down the road it gets more and more amazing. Really, how can you not love this??

In other news, we did get a milk cow, which we are very excited about. Through a series of miscommunications she has a name, Maple. She is big and sweet. She loves to follow you around the pasture and then sneak up for an ear rub. Milo is very brave while being held, and likes to moo in a low voice at her. Of course, as she gets closer he gets more nervous. Tonight he was able to watch her being milked for the first time. He was very patient and quiet, and even sat in a milking chair for a good 2 minutes. Maple has never been hand milked and it is a learning curve for both she and Eric. Eric ties a rope around her waist to calm some of her jumpy nerves.

   

Hopefully Milo will be milking by next year.

This week at the market we will have CHICKEN! Hurray! It’s back! We also have chicken feet. See you Saturday!

About saltforkfarms

A small organic farm in Iowa that raises Standard Breed laying hens and hybrid broiler chickens suited for a pasture-based system, as well as varieties of vegetables and fruit suitable to our Eastern Iowa climate. We grow food, we eat food, we sell food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

