What’s your favorite?

It’s that time of year. The gardens are full and time has come to really start preparing for winter. Canning and freezing are moving up on the list of things to do.

This morning Eric took Milo with him to let out the birds. This gave me an extra 30 minutes of sleep. Around minute 25 I heard the blender start up. As I made my way out to the kitchen I was greeted with, “Nine quarts of stewed tomatoes and 5 quarts of salsa.”

“Really? At 5:30 in the morning? That is amazing!”

The tomatoes are beautiful this year. Not to be out done by the peppers, garlic, eggplant and the okra. I think the okra has been my favorite. Mix it with some corn meal, salt, pepper and fry it up. Yep. That’s it. The okra wins, hands down. I think Milo’s favorite has been the tomatoes. Every night when we come home he walks over to the green house, picks a few cherry tomatoes, gives them a good squish and sucks out the insides. After this he hands me the skin and goes running after Peanut. http://saltforkfarms.com/2011/07/29/bull-dog-and-peanut/

         

What has been your favorite this year? Did you try something new? Did you can or freeze for the first time? Would you like to learn how to can? Milo and I are itching to know, so please share!

This week at the market we will have eggs in all sizes (small, medium, large, x-large), chicken, kale, collards, chard, tomatoes, potatoes, onions, garlic, okra (yum!), beans, squash, eggplant and peppers.

Please don’t forget about the Culinary Ride, which will benefit the Farm to School program. It will happen on September 18th. It sounds like a really great time. We will be serving green chili and corn bread. http://culinaryride.com/

About saltforkfarms

A small organic farm in Iowa that raises Standard Breed laying hens and hybrid broiler chickens suited for a pasture-based system, as well as varieties of vegetables and fruit suitable to our Eastern Iowa climate. We grow food, we eat food, we sell food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What’s your favorite?

  1. Greta says:

    My favorite so far has been my Italian Heirloom tomato (aka beefsteak). My yard gets only half a day of full sun so my big “crop” usually doesn’t come in until the end of this month. We have already started canning here in the city. I think Steph is up to almost 20 pints of tomatoes. She does the pressure cooker method. Last year I also did the other canning method with some jelly. Love to have these treasures in the winter.

  2. Berit says:

    You make me wish we’d planted okra. I need to hunt some down. I love them prepared that way, too. And like Milo, Roy is all about the cherry tomatoes. He can eat a dozen of them in one sitting, though he’s a little snooty—must be fresh off the vine. It’s really been all about tomatoes for us this year. We planted four different varieties and they’re coming up at a manageable pace.

  3. Eve says:

    Greta, wow, Steph is on it! It is so nice to have something so lovely in the winter. I really need to go over to the Galvin-Mildensteins and have some of their canning maddness rub off on me. Oh, and thanks for the link on the Seed Savers reading. Super interesting. Hopefully your heirlooms will be lovely!

    Berit, we arent sure what happened with the okra this year. It is super delicious. Again, if you were closer, I’d bring some over!

    Is there something you ladies want to can but have never tried yet? I am going to get The Ball Book of Canning and Preserving out tonight for inspiration.

  4. Berit says:

    I think pickles. I’m always impressed by a well-canned pickle. You mist have to get the herbs & spices just right?

    • saltforkfarms says:

      Like most things, the spices and brine recipe you use is up to your taste. If you’re not sure what that is, look at a book called “Preserving” by Oded Schwartz. It is excellent and will give you great ideas for recipes and sound advice on brine ratios. Have fun.

Leave a Reply

