Whitey

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Over the last few years I have had my issues with our roosters. I’ve always thought they were mean. In 2008 we had a rooster that would follow me around the barn yard. Every once in a while he’d make a move, I would give him a quick kick and off he would go. This spring  we noticed a white Delaware rooster, he was big, and he would come after you. In late March and early April, Eric had two run ins with this bird. By mid-April, this rooster had established that he was the man. We started calling him Whitey as it seemed we had something to say about him on a regular basis. Usually these conversations were not about Whitey’s attributes. I especially had a hard time with Whitey. He ran after me, he tried to attack me, if I had Milo on my back the interaction was even more intense.

Seth started here in May. When we sat down for dinner one night, Seth started to talk about Whitey. “Whitey is great, he might be my favorite.”

“Didn’t he attack you today?” I questioned

“Yeah, but he’s awesome. He’s doing his job. He loves his hens, and he’s going to protect his community, no matter what. He’s great at what he does.” Over the next few weeks we noticed that Seth has a picture of Whitey on his phone. Every once in a while he’ll look at it and tell us story about something Whitey did that day.

It’s funny how just a quick check on your perspective can change things. When I go gather eggs I find myself thanking Whitey for caring so much.

On Saturday’s market we will have eggs, including pullets, red onions, scallions, garlic, potatoes, fennel, beans, beets, chard, kale, squash, eggplant, basil, and okra.  Next week: tomatoes! and chicken!

— Eve

About saltforkfarms

A small organic farm in Iowa that raises Standard Breed laying hens and hybrid broiler chickens suited for a pasture-based system, as well as varieties of vegetables and fruit suitable to our Eastern Iowa climate. We grow food, we eat food, we sell food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Whitey

  1. Berit says:

    Nice! A good life lesson. I’ll bet there are plenty of those on the farm.

  2. kdicleme says:

    I love reading your blog and I love knowing that the animals in your care are respected. Thank you for your work.

  3. saltforkfarms says:

    Thanks Berit and Kristin! We feel very fortunate to be able to do this work. Plus, how could you not love those birds. They are so good at what the do!

  4. Pingback: Fall is here and there’s a lot going on. « Salt Fork Farms

  5. Pingback: Salt Fork Farms Winter Market (plus Milo’s Halloween Costume) « Salt Fork Farms

Leave a Reply

